Why I wish my kids would get sick already! *mini rant*

While I would never in my wildest dreams wish any kind of illness or sickness upon my children, sometimes I wish they would get sick already!?

Why you might ask?

My family is very healthy.  Very rarely does anyone get a sniffle, which might seem surprising given the size of our family.  I am not a germ-a-phobe.  I do not run around after the children with Clorox Disinfectant Wipes to keep the house clean and germ free (although I do use them when I decide to clean the house and they work well) I didn’t make people wash their hands before holding the children as babies.

ImageClick here for coupons! http://clorox.ca/innovation/smarttube/ No, I’m not getting paid by Clorox I just use them and like coupons!

We have just been blessed with healthy genes.  (I say this after Eden threw up last night and I’m sitting here with a throat that feels like I’m swallowing razor blades. I’d forgotten what it feels like to have a raw throat, it’s been so long)

At any rate, my teenaged daughter Nicole (Nikki) went to the clinic the other day.  Her tonsils were severely swollen so they gave her a prescription for medication to help with the infection and inflammation.

I was so excited!!

Why would you be excited about that you are asking yourself, well let me tell you why.

I live in Canada and I know we are tremendously fortunate to live in a country that pays for standard medical care as long as you have a provincial health card with no cost to us what so ever.  All you need to get a health card is a birth certificate and an address, pretty basic things for the average person.

My Mr. has benefits through work and we paid to upgrade the package so things like optical exams are covered as well as prescription glasses up to a certain price per year per person. (I’m the only one in the family that wears glasses) Dental is almost completely covered and with the upgrade it’s practically free for us, once again my kids have fantastic shiny and healthy teeth.

So I was excited to hear about Nikki’s prescription. I was excited to see how much it would cost and how much we would save.  We pay a lot of  extra money monthly for the upgraded benefits.

Imagehttp://www.arlingtonva.us/departments/HumanServices/EconomicIndependence/page65466.aspx

So I waited eagerly for the Mr. to call me and let me know how much the prescription would cost and how much we saved.

It was $14.00 and we saved $4.00, apparently because the initial cost was so low.

While I am so thankful that I have a house full of healthy children with healthy teeth, it would be darned nice to see a penny of what we put into the benefits used sometimes, oh wait, I forgot, the penny no longer exists in Canada and we saved $4.00….

Jennifer

18 thoughts on “Why I wish my kids would get sick already! *mini rant*

  1. Great post. Good to know another person that stays away from total antibacterial spray, swipe, dunk, and rinse. Personally I think being so clean and sanitary doesn’t allow the immune system to do its work.

    I enjoyed reading the Canadian health system.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog and leaving a “Like”.

    Leslie

    • I studied microbiology in college and you are absolutely right about the immune system. Small illness are what build up the immune system to help it fight against other stronger viruses.
      Don’t get me started on the amount of antibiotics that are administered unnecessarily to small children!…. 😉

  2. I’m glad to hear that my non-neat-freak-ness (and allowing my 10 month old to clean the floor with her clothes) will serve us well in the future! Looking to have a big family myself one day so I’m interested to read more! Thanks for the follow! 🙂

  3. My husband’s Canadian and we are healthy as well…..and we have lots of Canadian pennies sitting in our house as well! 🙂 I feel your pain! Heehee

    Thanks for stopping by my blog!

  4. If more people would leave the anti-bacterial stuff alone a lot LESS kids would be sick!! I am also a ‘non-paranoid’ mom with children who are rarely sick. I come from a family of seven kids…it’s in our genes.

  5. Lol. Living in the UK where we have the NHS I forget that others have to pay for healthcare. Well we pay for Dental hence why we dont have shiny white teeth like you all! I enjoyed reading. Thanks for reading me. Xx

If you have something you'd like to share, please do so here!

