Children that Read

Image

My children have finally become willing, engaged readers!!

 I know isn’t it so exciting??

My son Noah is really loving the Big Nate book series and my daughter Eden has fell in love with Ivy and Bean.  I love seeing them pick up a book to read on their own.  

I had a family member mention that Big Nate was comic bookish and not advanced enough for my son (he is a strong reader he just never had the desire to read for leisure) but you know what?  He loves these books.  He is keen to read and for me that has been what I have been waiting for. 

If your child wants to read, encourage them to do so, what ever the reading level!

6 thoughts on “Children that Read

  1. chantel my oldest when she finally started to read books I was so exited also … she starting to read when the books and movie came out of the Twilight Saga … sense then she never stopped reading she even has her own little library now in her room.

  2. SO glad you’ve set a good example to help your children become readers! The world has so many entertainment options that we sometimes forget how important it is to teach our kids a love of reading! (P.S. I love Ivy and Bean, too),

  3. Hi Jennifer,
    I so agree with this post!

    I’ve just had two of my short stories published in an anthology and wondered if you would review the book on your blog?
    It’s called ‘The Milk of Female Kindness’ and includes short fiction, poetry, art, memoir and medical writing on the theme of honest motherhood. Some of the writers have recently given birth, others are grandmothers. Some, like me, are childless; my writing is inspired by memories of my own mother. Some of the pieces will make you smile, others are heartbreaking.

    I’d be very happy to send you an e-book or hard copy, or some sample stories.
    Best wishes and thanks,
    Sandra

If you have something you'd like to share, please do so here!

